Piquillo Pepper & Chickpea Soup

I tested Food & Wine’s recipe, and have made a few measurement adjustments and added some new garnishings which I think are amazing with this soup. I actually prefer the recipe without rice and without chicken, but feel free to add those if you wish! If you do end up adding rice and/or chicken, it becomes a very satisfying one-pot meal!

Vegetarian or not, this is a fabulous recipe. I was taken aback by how QUICK it is. With the BlendTech blender I use, this is actually a no-cook recipe (also goes for VitaMix users), since these blenders heat up the soup so much while blending it’s not even necessary to reheat. I timed myself and it took a total of 6 minutes to make this recipe start to finish. It takes me more time to drive to Whole Foods and pick up a ready-made soup from there!

I hope that those of you who don’t have much time to cook try this out and make this a regular on your recipe rotation – I know I have!!! And lastly, if you like your meat, use chicken stock instead of vegetable, and top it with shredded chicken!

Enjoy! 🙂


Ingredients
1 cup drained piquillo peppers, reserving a 1/4 cup on the side, thinly sliced for garnish
1 cup store bought plain hummus (or you can make your own homemade hummus – my recipe is so easy!)
3 cups vegetable or chicken stock
Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper, to taste
2 tablespoons chopped fresh parsley

Garnish:
high quality extra-virgin olive oil, drizzled
habanero hot sauce (Trader Joe’s)
cubed avocado
fried chickpeas
thinly sliced piquillo peppers
store-bought rotisserie chicken, shredded

Directions
In a blender, combine piquillo peppers, hummus, and stock. Puree until smooth and season according to taste with salt and pepper. Heat in microwave or in a saucepan over medium heat until desired temperature. Serve hot in bowls garnished with drizzled olive oil, piquillo peppers, and any other garnish ideas I’ve given that tickle your fancy. Enjoy! 🙂

4 thoughts on “Piquillo Pepper & Chickpea Soup

  1. I love this because I’m vegan and Hauslley and the boys aren’t. It’s a recipe that I can make from start to finish vegan, and then add the chicken to theirs. Awesomeness…thanks Priyanka!

  2. We really enjoyed this soup and my family won’t eat store bought Hummus now that I’ve made your recipe and so much cheaper…thank you.

    • Wow, thank you SO much for your comment, Nita! 🙂 If you ever want to submit a picture of a Priyanka’s Kitchen recipe for my ‘reviews’ section with a little review, please let me know, I would be honored 🙂

Leave a Reply

