Oprah’s Chocolate Pot de Créme A La Mode

This recipe is not my own – it is from a December 2005 issue of the Oprah Magazine. It’s perfect the way it is and probably the most decadent, yet DELICIOUS dessert I have EVER had. Trust me, I have had my load of chocolate lava cakes, chocolate mousses, etc. But this one takes the cake in terms of being my all-time FAVORITE. I have also never seen dessert be devoured SO quickly around me 😉

I haven’t changed much in the recipe (and I wouldn’t if I were you!) except I added 2 ounces of chocolate because I think it could use a little more chocolate. I also have taken the liberty to make the instructions a little more clear and easy to follow.

There are such few ingredients which make this recipe EASY! And if you try it, you (and your family) will not be able to stop at making it just once – that is how good it is! Trust me on this one. 😉

I have doubled the recipe since I don’t think it’s worth making less than 10 servings (I can eat 2-3 on my own!), but feel free to make 5 servings by halving the recipe.

Enjoy!

PS here is a link to the original recipe.

Yields: 10 servings
Ingredients

10 ounces good-quality semi-sweet chocolate (can be coarsely chopped from a block or chocolate chips!)
2 cups heavy whipping cream
1 cup milk (3% fat preferred)
8 large egg yolks (preferably room temperature)
1/2 cup sugar

Garnish:
fresh raspberries
vanilla ice cream, to taste

Directions

Tip: Before you start, take your eggs out of the refrigerator and keep them in a bowl so they can come to room temperature by the time you will use them.

In a small saucepan, bring heavy whipping cream and milk to a boil. Take the pan off of the heat once boiling and add in the chocolate, whisking until the chocolate is melted and the ingredients are well-incorporated with each other.

Cover the saucepan and let cool in the refrigerator for 30 minutes (alternatively, you can transfer the mixture to a glass bowl, cover with a plate, and refrigerate)

Meanwhile, preheat oven to 350°. Place 10 ramekins (or other small cups such as oven-safe espresso cups) in a large roasting pan that has depth (I like to use large ceramic oven-safe pans, but either way is great!).

In a large bowl, whisk together yolks and sugar until well-incorporated (no need to over-whisk!). Gradually whisk in chocolate mixture until well blended.

Strain custard through a sieve or a strainer into a glass pitcher for easy pouring into ramekins.

Fill each ramekin until it is about 3/4 full with the chocolate mixture and place in your pan. Now fill the pan with hot water until the water reaches halfway to the top of each ramekin (be careful not to get water INTO the ramekins with the chocolate mixture!).

Bake until custards are set in center, about 35. Transfer custards to a cooling rack and cool to room temperature (about 30-45 minutes). Finish the process by cooling the ramekins in the refrigerator for 1 hour.

Top with raspberries and ice cream and ENJOY! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Oprah’s Chocolate Pot de Créme A La Mode

Leave a Reply

