Baked Vegetable Quinoa Cakes

I had these quinoa cakes at my friend’s house recently when she cooked dinner for us and boy did I fall in love with these. Many of you already know I am a HUGE fan of any rice-substitute (think: cous cous, quinoa, wheat berries, etc), so perhaps in the beginning I was a little biased in loving these little cakes of heaven.

However, I quickly learned that this dish is actually an all-rounder and appealing to carnivores and vegetarians alike! My friend graciously gave me her recipe and below is my adaptation of it. The main changes I made were to add pine nuts, use almond butter instead of tahini, and use yam instead of sweet potato. I also omitted sun-dried tomatoes and spinach out of the recipe not because I didn’t like them in the dish, but because I wanted to simplify it a bit (feel free to add these ingredients when you try it out – absolutely delish!). Also, the recipe calls for regular quinoa, but you can also experiment with red quinoa if you’d like! 🙂

Thank you A for this recipe, and I hope you all get to share this healthy and delicious recipe with your loved ones like I did.

Enjoy!

Yields: Approximately 12-14 quinoa cakes (depending on size of your cakes)

Ingredients

1 large egg
4 tablespoons all-purpose flour
1 1/2 tablespoons almond butter
2 teaspoons red wine vinegar
1 1/2 cups cooked quinoa (per package directions)
1/2 cup finely grated sweet potato or yam (but they are not the same thing!)
1/4 cup pine nuts
1/4 cup crumbled feta cheese
1/4 cup finely diced onion
1/8 cup chopped fresh parsley
4 cloves garlic, minced
1 tablespoon salt

Preheat oven to 400°F. Line your baking sheet with parchment paper and spray with cooking spray to prevent the cakes from sticking.

In a big bowl, combine egg, flour, almond butter and vinegar in bowl until well incorporated.

Stir in remaining ingredients (yam, pine nuts, feta, onion, parsley, garlic, salt, pepper) then mash together until mixture is firm enough to shape into cakes.

(Note: If you find the mixture to be too sticky, feel free to add a little more all-purpose flour or even breadcrumbs to help the mixture become more pliable).

Shape mixture into 1/4-cup patties with wet hands and place on parchment paper-lined baking sheet about 1 inch apart from each other (these will not expand much, so you don’t need to leave too much room between them).

Bake on prepared baking sheet 20-25 minutes on the middle/upper rack, turning once, or until cakes are browned.

These are most delicious when served fresh out of the oven and HOT! Accompany with either a homeemade pesto dipping sauce or even a cucumber-mint raita!

Note: Although you shouldn’t expect leftovers since these are THAT scrumptious, feel free to treat these like falafel and make tomorrow’s lunch by stuffing these into a whole-wheat pita or using it as the filling for a delicious vegetarian sandwich! 🙂

3 thoughts on “Baked Vegetable Quinoa Cakes

  1. I love quinoa cakes!!! And these look so yummy. I will have to try them out soon :). Thanks for posting this!! ❤

  2. I have never tried cooking with quinoa before. I know I’m pretty much the last person who would say that! LOL. This quinoa cakes looks delicious. Probably this will be more popular for my family (especially kids) than quinoa salad that I was planning to make. Thanks for the delicious recipe!

Leave a Reply

