Easy Sugar Cookies!

[ Note: new picture above was taken by me from a moving vehicle as we were driving around Park City, Utah area – how COOL-looking is this restaurant? ๐Ÿ™‚ ]

Can you feel my excitement!?!?!

For those of you that know me well in the kitchen know that I’m not much of a baker, but I do like eating baked goods! ๐Ÿ™‚ What a problem! So yesterday was Easter (Happy Easter everyone!) and I decided to make some sugar cookies from scratch. I’ve definitely bought the sugar cookie mixes from the store before and enjoyed them that way, but I thought I’d be adventurous and take this risk – and guess what – they were yummy! Hubby had some and he said his favorite thing about them was that they are moist and not too sweet like most cookies are.

Which brings me to my next point – if you like SUPER sweet desserts, top these with icing or sprinkles for the perfect sweetness. If you’re like me, and like a mellow, sweet taste, try making these cookies as per the recipe below and you’ll love them. Or, feel free to add a bit more sugar into your cookie dough mix :).

I brought these into the office today to share with my fellow InsideVault team (here I go with my shameless plug for our company! http://www.insidevault.com) ๐Ÿ™‚ and I hope to get constructive criticism on their thoughts!

Happy Monday and Enjoy! ๐Ÿ™‚

PS – can you see the cookie where someone may have taken a bite? ๐Ÿ˜‰ That’s how much self-restraint I have!! hehe….

Yields: ~ 12-18 cookies

Ingredients

1/2 cup of sugar
1 stick of butter (or 1/2 cup), room temperature

1 egg
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/2 teaspoon almond extract
1 cups all-purpose flour (preferably unbleached)
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
a pinch of salt

Directions

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F (190 degrees C).

Using a stand mixer, cream the butter and sugar together until smooth. Add in the egg, vanilla extract, and almond extract. Gradually blend in the dry ingredients (don’t forget the pinch of salt!).

Roll rounded teaspoonfuls of dough into balls, and place onto ungreased cookie sheets. [Flatten with your fingers if you want, or you can leave them as small bite-sized rounds.] I really like baking with Silpat silicone mats on top of the cookie sheet to avoid burning and sticking(and a lot of friends of mine that bake swear by them too!).

Bake 8 to 10 minutes in the preheated oven, or until golden. Let stand on cookie sheet two minutes before removing to cool on wire racks.

Ice or decorate as desired and enjoy! These won’t last very long at all! ๐Ÿ˜‰

Drink Pairing: An ice-cold glass of milk!

3 thoughts on “Easy Sugar Cookies!

  1. I just couldn’t depart your site before suggesting that I actually loved the usual information an individual provide on your visitors? Is going to be again continuously in order to check out new posts

Leave a Reply

