Spinach & Mushroom Quiche

Quiche is such a versatile dish – I’ve served this dish at dinner parties, weekend brunches, and even as a late night snack during a movie night. The beautiful thing about a piece of warm, egg quiche is that it doesn’t scream ‘breakfast-only!’ like scrambled eggs do, and they keep in the refrigerator very well and make for great leftovers and snacks the day (or two, or three) after!

Parents – listen up! This is a great way to get some protein and vegetables into your little ones – trust me, I’ve tricked some little ones into eating this! 😉

This is the base recipe that I use for quiche, but I have tweaked it quite a bit because a) I like different fillings, depending on what is fresh in my fridge and what I’m craving b) my quiche always burned if I bake it as long as they say to c) they call for too many eggs in their recipe and I always ended up throwing away filling (and I hate wasting good food!) and d) I don’t use any butter because I want this to be a healthier dish that I don’t feel super guilty about eating!

My mushroom & spinach recipe is below – you can always be creative and switch up the filling ingredients (see variations below!).

PS – I’ve tagged this as ‘Vegetarian’ even though it has eggs because a lot of you lovely vegetarian friends of mine eat eggs 🙂 This dish is pretty useless without eggs though, so if you don’t eat eggs, I would skip this one.

Enjoy!
___________

Ingredients

1 teaspoon extra-virgin olive oil
2 cloves garlic, finely chopped
1 medium white or yellow onion, chopped
1 (10 ounce) package frozen chopped spinach (thawed and drained) OR a bunch of fresh chopped spinach
1 (4.5 ounce) can mushrooms (drained) or 1 cup of fresh mushrooms, thinly sliced
salt and pepper to taste
1 (9 inch) unbaked deep dish pie crust (I use Marie Calendar’s frozen pie crusts that are available at Whole Foods, and believe or not, Walmart)
2 eggs, beaten
salt and pepper to taste

Topping: 1 cup shredded Cheddar cheese (or any shredded cheese you would like!)

Directions

Preheat oven to 325 degrees F

In a medium skillet, heat extra virgin olive oil over medium heat. Add onion and sprinkle with salt to taste. Saute until lightly browned and tender, about 5 minutes. Add spinach, garlic, mushrooms, & cheese. Add ground black pepper. Taste the mixture and adjust seasoning to taste.

Spoon mixture into unbaked pie crust and using a spatula & spread evenly without damaging the pie crust shell. I use these spatulas.

In a medium bowl, whisk the 2 eggs with a fork. Pour into the pastry shell, allowing egg mixture to thoroughly combine with vegetable and cheese mixture. Use your spatula to make sure that the eggs don’t just sit on top of the vegetable mixture, but rather move the mixture around to allow the egg to distribute evenly.

Bake in preheated oven for 15 minutes. Sprinkle top with shredded cheese and bake an additional 20-25 minutes, until set in center. Rotate the dish a little bit since all ovens don’t cook evenly, and you may end up with a quiche that is really crispy on one half of the shell and undercooked on the other.

Allow to stand 10 minutes before cutting and serving.

Variations on the filling and toppings: smoked salmon, cream cheese, green onions, arugula, diced ham, red bell pepper, sun dried tomatoes (chopped), piquillo peppers, goat cheese

Drink pairing: a chilled glass of Moscato would be my recommendation!

2 thoughts on “Spinach & Mushroom Quiche

Leave a Reply

